Asia

Puppetry has always been of great significance in Asia’s cultural life. The reason for this is that puppetry and also shadow play developed alongside religious rites and ceremonies. The encounter with Asian puppet theatre is therefore always an encounter with Asian cultural landscapes as well.

The Museum of Theatre Puppets has in its collection a large array of Asian puppets. Due to our limited space, it is unfortunately impossible to present them all in an adequate manner. Therefore we have decided to display single areas in various special exhibitions that are designed to reveal the richness of Asian puppetry.


­European puppetry as well was influenced to some extent by Asian playing techniques. The Japanese Bunraku technique especially impresses Western audiences and influenced European and American puppet theater. Most of all, however, it is the style and techniques of our shadow theater that has been leaning towards Chinese shadow theater (“ombres chinoises”) since the 17th century. The biggest difference between European and Asian puppetry is in the special significance of puppetry almost everywhere in Asia, be it under Buddhist, Hindu or Muslim influence.

The main source for plays between India and Indonesia are the two great Hindu epics Ramayana and Mahabharata. By means of puppetry, a largely illiterate audience is familiarized with their teachings. Both the building of the puppets and the puppeteering itself can be described as religious acts in a broad sense. Often, the puppeteer thus takes on a preacher-like role. Also, music plays an important role in Asian puppetry.


 

Asian shadow puppetry

"Art is something that lies in the slender margin between the real and the unreal." (Chikamatsu Monzaemon)

As long as human fate is depicted by human actors in theatre, there are no concerns with Asian audiences. However, problems arise when it comes to supernatural powers. Asian people thus decided very early on to use puppets and shadow puppets to represent supernatural entities, be it gods or heroes of the past. “In their silhouettes, we can still discover the remnants of light, so we can divine a higher reality in them.” (Thomas Immoos)

Shadow puppets served as accessories to exemplify the epic telling of ancient myths. The ordinary people were hardly able to understand the traditional tales of gods and heroes in a sophisticated language or even in Sanskrit. Already in the 2nd century BC, the Indian scholar Patanjali reported of recitals of such epics that were illustrated with pictures. Shadow puppetry proved to be an excellent means to help recall the stories of gods, demons and superhuman heroes. In the light of candles or tilly lamps, those figures moved on a white screen in an estranged fashion that showed enough reality to stimulate imagination.


Over time, human fate found its way on to the shadow stage as well. Shadow puppetry developed into world theatre, as the screen on the wall represents the sky and the stage depicts earth.

Shadow puppetry is an excellent means of letting the deceased make an appearance again. A Chinese tale, for instance, ascribes the emergence of shadow puppetry to necromancy.


 

Japan

Bunraku Head of a bunraku puppet, end of 19th century, Japan

Bunraku is the most significant form of theater in Japan. The almost life-sized puppets are each controlled by three puppeteers with the utmost precision. While the chief puppeteer is usually visible as he moves the puppet’s head and right arm, his aides are wrapped in black garments and are thus invisible in front of a dark background. The puppets’ dialogue is accompanied by music. Bunraku is especially renowned for tragic romances that end with suicide (Shinju). Bunraku theater is writers’ theater. Before the performance, the speaker holds up the text and takes a bow. Thus he promises to follow it loyally. Since 2005, Bunraku has been included in the UNESCO list of Masterpieces of the Oral and Intangible Heritage of Humanity.

Thailand

Thailand

Scene from the Ramakien, shadow puppet, end of 19th century, Thailand

The basis of the traditional Thai rod puppet theatre “hun krabok” is the classic form of dance drama “khon”, which is performed by men in masks. The Ramakien epic, which is the Thai version of the Indian Ramayana, is the foundation of shadow theatre. Large shadow puppets (“nang yai”) are used in the north, whereas the Southern province Pattalung uses mostly smaller puppets (“nang talung”), which gave them their name, too. The puppeteer holds his puppets up high and performs dance movements in front of or behind the screen.


India

Puppet theatre seems to be almost ubiquitous in India. The centers of traditional play are, amongst others, the provinces of Rajasthan (Kathputli marionettes), Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh (glove puppets), West Bengal (rod puppets), Andra Pradesh (shadow puppetry), Kerala (Kathakali glove puppets). Especially shadow theatre has had a long and significant tradition in India. The Indian scholar Patanjali reported of recitals of well-known epics that were illustrated with pictures. It is possible, albeit not indisputable, that he saw early shadow puppetry. If this holds true, the history of Indian shadow puppetry reaches back until at least the 2nd century BC. Definite proof of shadow puppetry being existent at the courts of Indian kings can be traced back to the 6th century. The shadow theatre is staged behind a thin screen and manages to create a complete work of art with the simplest means. Literature, dramatic arts, music, dance, painting and light contribute to the effect as well.

Our museum displays Indian shadow puppets, marionettes and different rod puppets. 

Click on a photo to start the gallery:

China

Like in India, all kinds of puppet theater are common in China. The repertoire of Chinese puppeteers spans hand puppets, rod puppets and also marionettes and shadow puppets. The cultural revolution from 1966 to 1976  put traditional puppetry into great danger; therefore, some forms are threatened with extinction and have been declared intangible heritage by the UNESCO.

We display rare marionettes from China, rod puppets from the Beijing opera house, shadow puppets as well as hand puppet stages with their corresponding puppets.

Click on a photo to start the gallery:

 

Turkey

Karagöz

Karagöz shadow puppets, beginning of 20th century, Tiurkey

Karagöz and Hacivat – the jesters from the Bosporus

He is cheeky, cheerful and lazy – and he hits hard. We are not talking about the German Kasperle, but Karagöz from Turkey. Karagöz and Hacivat are the most important characters in Turkish puppet theater. Karagöz plays -- cheeky and often obscene -- are usually performed at large family celebrations and every night at coffee houses during Ramadan. Puppet theatre in Turkey often contains socio-critical elements.


Hacivat does not get along well with everybody and always pursues his own interests. He is educated and is able to take on many roles. For money, he will work in any profession, be it the village president or a matchmaker. Hacivat knows one thing or two about haggling and doesn’t have difficulties when it comes to money-making. He makes Karagöz do the hard work for little money. Karagöz is a simple, funny, but sly common man. Often, due to lack of money, he has to take on jobs that he is not up to.

Our exhibition displays different variants of Karagöz and Hacivat with their ensemble. On the pictures you can easily tell Hacivat as a person to be respected by his typical headgear.



Myanmar

Burma

Boy with elephant, marionettes, end of 19th century, Myanmar

Marionette theatre in Myanmar is dance theatre. All puppets are moved dancingly and feature special constructions. One performance presents one of 550 episodes out of the life of Buddha. In addition, there are 27 established types of puppets; animal figures are the most important ones. Marionettes are characterised by music, singing and dialogue.

 
Sources: 
Wolfgang Till: Puppentheater. Bilder, Figuren, Dokumente. München 1986
Thomas Immoos: Einleitung. In: Fred Mayer: Schattentheater. Zürich 1979, S. 12-18.
Ramana Murty: Indien. In: Fred Mayer: Schattentheater. Zürich 1979, S. 59-66.

Opening hours

The Museum of Theatre Puppets will be closed for two years while the buildings will be renovated. The buildings, some of which date to the 16th century need to be restored, and the 35 year old exhibition will be updated. The work is scheduled to begin in January 2018.

Entrance fee

Adults
7.00 EUR
Pupils, students 3.50 EUR
Children (6-12 years) 2.50 EUR

How to find us

TheaterFigurenMuseum Lübeck

Kolk 14 · 23552 Lübeck · Germany
Phone: +49 (0)451 786-26
Fax: +49 (0)451 784-36

Map directions

Diese Seite wird unterstützt von LYNET

Asien

Das Figurentheater hat seit jeher eine bedeutende Stellung im kulturellen Leben Asiens. Grund dafür ist, dass sich das Puppen- und Schattenspiel in engstem Zusammenhang mit den Riten und Zeremonien des religiösen Lebens entwickelt haben. Die Begegnung mit dem Figurentheater Asiens ist darum auch eine Begegnung mit den asiatischen Kulturlandschaften.

Das TheaterFigurenMuseum verfügt über eine große Anzahl asiatischer Puppenbestände. Sie adäquat präsentieren zu können, ist angesichts des gebotenen Raumes völlig ausgeschlossen. Sonderausstellungen über einzelne Gebiete sollen die Vielfalt deutlich machen.


Das europäische Puppenspiel empfing wesentliche Anregungen durch asiatische Spieltechniken. Besonders die japanische Bunraku-Technik macht auf westliche Zuschauer einen starken Eindruck und hat europäische und amerikanische Bühnen geprägt. Vor allem aber orientierte sich unser Schattentheater in Stil und Technik seit dem 17. Jahrhundert an den chinesischen Schatten („ombres chinoises“). Der größte Unterschied zwischen dem europäischen und dem asiatischen Puppenspiel besteht in dem besonderen kulturellen Stellenwert, den das Puppenspiel fast überall in Asien besitzt, obgleich es sich um den buddhistischen, hinduistischen oder moslemischen Einflussbereich handelt.

Die Hauptquelle für die Theaterstoffe zwischen Indien und Indonesien liefern das hinduistische Ramayana- und das Mahabharata-Epos, deren Lehren durch das Puppenspiel einem meist leseunkundigen Publikum nähergebracht werden. Sowohl das Herstellen als auch das Spielen der Puppen kann im weiteren Sinne als religiöser Akt bezeichnet werden. Dem Puppenspieler kommt dabei oft eine priesterähnliche Rolle zu. Auch die Musik spielt eine bedeutende Rolle im asiatischen Figurentheater.

Quelle: Till, Wolfgang (1986): Puppentheater. Bilder, Figuren, Dokumente. München)

Das asiatische Schattentheater

„Kunst ist das, was zwischen Schein und Sein liegt.“ Chikamatsu Monzaemon

In Asien stößt die Darstellung einer Rolle durch den menschlichen Schauspieler auf keine Bedenken, solange menschliche Schicksale dargestellt werden. Sie wird aber problematisch, wenn überirdische Mächte ins Spiel kommen. Die Völker Asiens kamen schon früh auf den Gedanken, überirdische Wesen, seien es Götter oder Helden der Vergangenheit, durch Puppen oder Schattenfiguren darzustellen. „In ihrer Schemenhaftigkeit ist immer noch ein Abglanz des Lichts enthalten, sodass sich in ihnen die höhere Wirklichkeit erahnen lässt.“ (Thomas Immoos)


Die Schattenfiguren dienten dazu, die epische Rezitation der alten Mythen zu erläutern. Das gewöhnliche Volk war kaum in der Lage, die überlieferten Erzählungen von Göttern und Helden in gehobener Sprache oder gar in Sanskrit zu verstehen. Der indische Gelehrte Patanjali berichtete bereits im 2. Jh. v. Chr. von Vorträgen solcher Epen mit Bildern. Das Schattenspiel erwies sich als ein vorzügliches Mittel, die großen Ereignisse der Mythen in Erinnerung zu rufen, die Geschichten, die sich zwischen Göttern, Dämonen und übermenschlichen Helden ereigneten. Im Licht der Kerzen oder Öllampen bewegen sich diese Gestalten auf dem weißen Wandschirm in einer entfremdeten Form, die genügend Realität gewinnt, um die Phantasie zu beleben.

Mit der Zeit findet auch das Menschenschicksal seinen Weg auf die Schattenbühne. Das Schattentheater wird zum Welttheater, in dem der Wandschirm den Himmel und die Bühne die Erde repräsentiert.

Das Schattentheater ist ein ausgezeichnetes Medium, um die Abgeschiedenen wieder in Erscheinung zu rufen. Eine chinesische Erzählung führt die Entstehung des Schattenspiels beispielsweise auf die Totenbeschwörung zurück.

Quelle: Immos, Thomas. In: Mayer, Fred (1979): Schattentheater, S. 12-18.

Japan

Bunraku Kopf einer Bunrakufigur,
Ende 19. Jh. Japan

Das Bunraku ist das bedeutendste Theater Japans. Die fast lebensgroßen Puppen werden von jeweils drei Spielern mit äußerster Präzision geführt. Während der Chef-Puppenspieler den Kopf und den rechten Arm der Figur meist sichtbar bewegt, sind seine Gehilfen in schwarze Gewänder gehüllt und so vor einem dunklen Hintergrund unsichtbar. Die Dialoge der Puppen werden von Musik begleitet. Bunraku ist besonders bekannt für tragische Liebesgeschichten, die mit Suizid (Shinju) enden. Das Bunraku Theater ist ein Autorentheater. Vor der Vorstellung hält der Rezitator den Text in die Höhe und verbeugt sich vor ihm. Damit verspricht er, ihm treu zu folgen. Bunraku wurde im Jahr 2005 in die UNESCO-Liste der Meisterwerke des mündlichen und immateriellen Erbes der Menschheit aufgenommen.

Thailand

Thailand Szene aus dem Ramakien, Schattenfigur,
Ende 19. Jh. Japan

Das klassische thailändische Masken-Tanzdrama „khon“ bildet die Basis der Figuren des traditionellen Stockpuppenspiels (hun krabok“) Thailands. Das Ramakien-Epos, die Thai-Version des indischen Ramayana, ist die Grundlage des Schattenspiels. Die großen Schattenfiguren („nang yai“) werden im Norden gespielt, die kleineren Figuren („nang talung“) in der südlichen Provinz Pattalung, von der auch der Name abgeleitet ist. Der Puppenspieler hält seine Figur empor und führt vor oder hinter der Leinwand Tanzbewegungen aus.


Indien

Das Puppentheater scheint in Indien fast allgegenwärtig. Zu den Zentren des traditionellen Spiels gehören die Provinzen Rajasthan (Kathputli-Marionetten), Uttar Pradesh und Madhya Pradesh (Handpuppen), West Bengal (Stabfiguren), Andra Pradesh (Schattentheater), Kerala (Kathakali-Handpuppen).

Besonders das Schattentheater hat in Indien eine lange und bedeutende Tradition. Der indische Gelehrte Patanjali berichtete bereits im 2. Jh. v. Chr. von Vorträgen bekannter Epen mit Bildern. Es ist möglich, wenn auch nicht eindeutig, dass es sich dabei um Schattenspiel handelt – womit das indische Schattentheater bereits im 2. Jahrhundert v. Chr. nachzuweisen wäre. Eindeutige Zeugnisse für die Verbreitung des Schattenspiels an den Höfen der indischen Könige finden sich seit dem 6. Jahrhundert. Das Schattentheater wird hinter einer dünnen Leinwand in Szene gesetzt und schafft mit einfachsten Mitteln ein Gesamtkunstwerk. Literatur, Schauspielkunst, Musik, Tanz, Malerei und Licht leisten ihren Beitrag.

Unser Museum zeigt indische Schattenfiguren, Marionetten und verschiedene Stabfiguren in der Ausstellung.

Quelle: Murty, Ramana: Indien. In: Mayer, Fred (1979): Schattentheater, S. 59-66.

China

Ähnlich wie in Indien sind auch in China sämtliche Arten des Puppentheaters üblich. Von Handpuppen über Stabfiguren bis hin zu Marionetten und Schattenfiguren ist das Repertoire chinesischer Puppenspieler groß. Die Kulturrevolution von 1966-1976 brachte das bis dahin erhaltene traditionelle Puppenspiel in große Gefahr; einige Formen sind deshalb vom Aussterben bedroht und von der UNESCO zum immateriellen Kulturerbe erklärt worden.

Unsere Ausstellung zeigt seltene Marionetten aus China, Stabfiguren der Peking-Oper, Schattenfiguren sowie Handpuppenbühnen mit den zugehörigen Figuren.

(Quelle: Till, Wolfgang (1986): Puppentheater. Bilder, Figuren, Dokumente. München)

Türkei

Karagöz Schattenspielfiguren, Anfang 20. Jahrhundert.

Karagöz und Hacivat – Die Spaßmacher vom Bosporus

Er ist frech, faul, fröhlich - und er haut kräftig zu. Das ist nicht der deutsche Kasper, sondern der türkische Karagöz. In der Türkei sind Karagöz und Hacivat die wichtigsten Figuren im Puppentheater. Die frechen und oft obszönen Karagöz-Stücke werden vor allem bei großen Familienfesten und während des Fastenmonats Ramadan jeden Abend in den Kaffeehäusern aufgeführt. Das Figurentheater hat in der Türkei häufig eine sozialkritische Komponente.


Hacivat verträgt sich mit jedem und verfolgt so seine Interessen, er ist gebildet und kann in alle Rollen schlüpfen. Er übt jeden Beruf für Geld aus, angefangen vom Dorfvorsteher bis zum Ehevermittler. Hacivat versteht etwas vom Handeln und strengt sich beim Geldverdienen nicht an. Harte Arbeiten lässt er Karagöz für einen geringen Lohn verrichten. Karagöz ist einfacher, aber witzig-gerissener Mann aus dem Volk. Er muss aus Geldmangel häufig Aufgaben übernehmen, denen er nicht gewachsen ist.

In unserer Ausstellung sind verschiedene Varianten von Karagöz und Hacivat und ihrem Ensemble zu sehen. Bei den auf dem Foto abgebildeten Figuren ist Hacivat (rechts) deutlich als Respektperson an der typischen Kopfbedeckung zu erkennen.


Myanmar (vormals Burma)

Burma Junge mit Elefant, Ende 19. Jh.

Das Marionettentheater in Myanmar ist ein Tanztheater. Alle Figuren werden tänzerisch bewegt und haben spezielle Konstruktionsweisen. Im Mittelpunkt einer Aufführung steht eine der 550 Episoden aus dem Leben Buddhas. Dazu gibt es 27 feststehende Figurentypen, wobei den Tierfiguren eine besondere Bedeutung zukommt. Marionetten werden durch Musik, Gesang und Dialog charakterisiert.

Unsere Dauerausstellungen

Europa
Asien
Afrika

Aktuelle Termine

Eintritt

Erwachsene 7,00 €
Schüler/innen, Studierende 3,50 €
Schüler/innen im Klassenverband 2,50 €
Kinder (6-12 Jahre) 2,50 €
Kinder (unter 6 Jahre) frei

Adresse / Kontakt

TheaterFigurenMuseum gGmbH

Kolk 14 · 23552 Lübeck
Tel: +49 (0)451 29616862
info(at)theaterfigurenmuseum.de

Zur Anfahrtsskizze

Diese Seite wird unterstützt von LYNET